why do I get a £1 charge when I start/join a table?
this is an authorisation hold. authorisation holds are small amounts of money that are never actually charged to your account. however, you may notice one of these amounts listed on your account as pending
at the start of your meal the app may place a temporary authorisation hold of £1 on your payment method. this will show up as a "pending" charge on your account's payment method. when the meal is paid for, this authorisation hold is converted to the final bill
if you don’t actually end up paying for a meal the pending charge will disappear from your account with in a few days (this varies by bank)